Editing for Curators and Arts Managers – Catherine Bourne

My video presentation discusses editing for curators and arts managers, covering editing art texts, catalogues, documentation of projects and funding applications and proposals. Using various case studies as examples, I speak about how essential editing skills are for contemporary arts workers owing to the industry expectation that you not only fulfil your primary role but also function as editor, agent, graphic designer and marketing and promotions worker. I also make suggestions for the effective use of editing, such as the neurological reasons it’s easier to edit on paper than onscreen and how to edit for successful funding applications.

I was going to re-shoot this, but I ran out of time, I was hoping to make it more concise (it’s 16mins). Also, the lighting in this video makes it look like I have gold teeth!

Leave a Reply

