Sinead Meehan – Video Essay

My name is Sinead Meehan, I’m currently an MRes History of Art student. Although I have used digital editing for projects in the past, this project was very challenging. I wanted to use video clips to and images to demonstrate my points in a visual way, and include audio and some simple animation. This lead me to converting my own clips, re-learning how to import and manipulate sound, and edit dialogue on the few occasions that I slipped up in the middle of a sentence. I was also forced to remember that Premier Pro takes a long time to render and export on computers as unsuitable as my own. Despite these complaints, I’m glad to have had a chance to use this programme again and it has encouraged me to get my teeth back into film based concepts again.

I started by trying to define what and editor is, more for my own sake. In my field an editor usually works in relation to art publications, journals and news articles. In this way art writers and editors are partially responsible for generating a public interest for upcoming exhibitions. They also edited academic and informative books and publications about the work, connecting their ideas to other artists, concepts and movements.  I also touched on some of my own concerns surrounding documentary, as it’s a practice I am interested in. As I am equally interested in history, I often come against freedom of expression through art practice and accuracy when using history as a source. Picturing Derry (2013) and Catholic Blood (2013) were two exhibitions I used outline this. These were proceeded by a brief explanation to the context of Derry during the City of Culture festival in 2013 when these issues began to interest me. In my opinion both exhibitions are strong examples of a crossover between contemporary art and history.

hay

Sinead Meehan, The Quiet Ones, 2014

Collaborative writing is has not been an aspect of my work so far, but collaboration has. I used the basic principles of relational and participatory art practises in current art practices to deal with this. The theory of these come quiet close to ideas surrounding the open access of information, knowledge sharing and dialogue based work practices which are often mentioned in relation to the internet and digital practices. Finally, I briefly dealth with digital skills and they power they give creators. This allows for experimentation with image, sound and video that often influences the work of many contemporary artists. Digital skills allow artists to have their voice heard online, and aloes means that any of us can easily change and manipulate this media for a variety of reasons. Context can be changed through content and new narratives can be created.

Sinead Meehan, MRes History of Art

Leave a Reply

